Information

Information and events

This page contains general information on activities and events that the Group is involved in. It is particularly aimed at our ringing members and helpers, but will also be of interest for other visitors to Rye Meads.

Ringers’ pages are here (access by invitation only).

Public events

Showing the birds to visitors

Below are public events for 2020 that involve RMRG. Most of these events are led by RSPB, and these events need booking – see here for details.

4th April – Kingfisher Celebration (this will be a ‘fun day’ type event celebrating the new hide) times TBC

23rd May – Nest Box Watch 1pm. (This date is always provisional as it is governed by the exact breeding cycle which varies a little.)

11th July – Wonderful Warblers 8-10am

8th August – Big Wild Sleep Out 7-7.40am

15th August – Big Wild Sleep Out 7-7.40am

22nd August – Big Wild Sleep Out 7-7.40am

12th September – Autumn Migrants 8-10am

Wetland Bird Survey

This survey, usually known simply as WeBS, aims to make co-ordinated national counts of all wetland birds in order to monitor populations, both wintering and breeding. We count the birds of Rye Meads, including the sewage works site. The 2020 count dates are as follows:

12th January
9th February
8th March
12th April
10th May
7th June
5th July
23rd August
20th September
8th October
15th November
13th December

(These are SUNDAYS – note actual count date may be the SATURDAY of that weekend at the discretion of the counter)

Constant Effort Sites

The CES Scheme requires timed ringing sessions at specific date periods using the same net sites through the summer, so as to provide at a national level statistically significant catch numbers to monitor population trends and breeding productivity. The 2020 visit dates are as follows.

Visit 1 Thursday 30 April to Saturday 9 May
Visit 2 Sunday 10 May to Wednesday 20 May
Visit 3 Thursday 21 May to Saturday 30 May
Visit 4 Sunday 31 May to Wednesday 10 June
Visit 5 Thursday 11 June to Saturday 20 June
Visit 6 Sunday 21 June to Wednesday 1 July
Visit 7 Thursday 2 July to Saturday 11 July
Visit 8 Sunday 12 July to Wednesday 22 July
Visit 9 Thursday 23 July to Saturday 1 August
Visit 10 Sunday 2 August to Wednesday 12 August
Visit 11 Thursday 13 August to Saturday 22 August
Visit 12 Sunday 23 August to Wednesday 2 September