Information

Information and events

This page contains general information on activities and events that the Group is involved in. It is particularly aimed at our ringing members and helpers, but will also be of interest for other visitors to Rye Meads.

Ringers’ pages are here (access by invitation only).

Public events

Showing the birds to visitors

Below are public events for 2019 that involve RMRG. Most of these events are led by RSPB, and these events need booking – see here for details.

2nd March – Herts Bird Club Annual Conference – come and visit the RMRG stand!
20th April – New Ringers Building Grand Opening
25th May – Nestbox Watch (RSPB): this date is always provisional as it is governed by the exact breeding cycle which varies a little.
3rd August – Big Wild Sleep Out (RSPB)
10th August – Ringing Demonstration – Wonderful Warblers (RSPB)
24th August – NW London RSPB Group visit
31st August – Ringing Demonstration – Autumn Migrants (RSPB)

Wetland Bird Survey

This survey, usually known simply as WeBS, aims to make co-ordinated national counts of all wetland birds in order to monitor populations, both wintering and breeding. We count the birds of Rye Meads, including the sewage works site. The 2019 count dates are as follows:

20th January
17th February
24th March
21st April
19th May
16th June
7th July
4th August
15th September
13th October
17th November
15th December

(These are SUNDAYS – note actual count date may be the
SATURDAY of that weekend at the discretion of the counter)

Constant Effort Sites

The CES Scheme requires timed ringing sessions at specific date periods using the same net sites through the summer, so as to provide at a national level statistically significant catch numbers to monitor population trends and breeding productivity. The 2019 visit dates are as follows.

Visit 1: Thursday 2 May to Saturday 11 May
Visit 2: Sunday 12 May to Wednesday 22 May
Visit 3: Thursday 23 May to Saturday 1 June
Visit 4: Sunday 2 June to Wednesday 12 June
Visit 5: Thursday 13 June to Saturday 22 June
Visit 6: Sunday 23 June to Wednesday 3 July
Visit 7: Thursday 4 July to Saturday13 July
Visit 8: Sunday 14 July to Wednesday 24 July
Visit 9: Thursday 25 July to Saturday 3 August
Visit 10: Sunday 4 August to Wednesday 14 August
Visit 11: Thursday 15 August to Saturday 24 August
Visit 12: Sunday 25 August to Wednesday 4 September